2021 Best Kept Village Results

We’re very proud to report that Haskayne achieved some good results in this year’s competitions:

“Highly Commended” in both the “Small Villages” & “Children’s Play Area” categories.

Thank you to everyone involved for all their efforts.

Congratulations also to Halsall who won “Best Kept Village” in the “Large Village” category.


April Meeting

Topic: Meeting of Downholland Parish Council
Time: Apr 27, 2021 07:30 PM London

Join Zoom Meeting


March Meeting

Zoom link for the March Meeting


Feb 16th 2021 Parish Council Meeting Zoom Details


January 2021 Parish Council Meeting Details

Zoom meeting invite for the meeting 19th Jan 2021.


Update on Moor Farm Development

Over recent months the Parish Council has been in touch with Oakwood Developments to address residents’ concerns regarding

Parking on School Lane
Visibility of safety barriers at night
HGV traffic through the village

We’re please to report that Oakwood have been very helpful in addressing these issues by providing lighting, diversion signs etc.

We have additionally received the following update below in regards to the issue of mud on the road near the entrance to Chisnall Brook:

A road sweep attended site on Friday morning for an hour and I have arranged for another sweep to attend on Friday afternoon.
The site is due to shut down for the Christmas break on 22nd December and re-open on 4th January.
I had planned for the tarmac base course to be installed on the first week back but due to the extremely adverse weather we have had over the past few weeks it has slowed progress.
The road is now due to be installed a week after, W/C 11th January.
After this date all vehicles entering/leaving the site will be on a tarmac road so I hope to close out this issue.
However, in order to fully alleviate any issues moving forward, I will be installing a wheel wash at the entrance of the site.


Link for December’s Meeting

Meeting ID: 954 9149 2774

Passcode: 454639


Link for November’s Meeting


Downholland & Lydiate Roll of Honour 2021

First World War

George Allin
Ewan Blackledge
John Bond
Herman Bradley
Bruno Bradley
James Cheetham
Thomas Cox
Patrick B Cox
John Culshaw
John Draper
Harry Fawcett
Herbert Finch
William Hampson
William Hodge
William Henry Hunt
George Lowe
George Ernest Norris
Thomas Pye
James Pye
Henry Rawlinson
William Rothwell
Peter Sharrock
Edward Townsend
James White

Second World War

James Boyde
Norman Cookson
Alfred Draper
Maximillian Draper
Arthur Green
John Halsall
Eric Moultrie
James Mullany
Harold Quinn
John Underwood
Robert Worthington
Thomas Gerard Coonan
John Hesketh
Richard Pope


October 2020 Parish Council Meeting

Link for tonight’s meeting via Zoom.

Start: Oct 13, 2020 07:30 PM London